Awards and Honors

Dr. Peiman Naseradinmousavi was awarded the John J. Gallen Memorial Award from Villanova’s College of Engineering in 2021. The Award recognizes the achievements of those whose technical efforts yield advances in the engineering profession.

Dr. Sweta Sarkar was the recipient of the 2021 Diversity Excellence Awards of the SDSU Division of Student Affairs and Campus Diversity.

Dr. Eugene Olevsky was chosen for the 2020 TMS Materials Processing & Manufacturing Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award.

Dr. Ping Lu and Dr. Luciano Demasi were ranked no. 37 and no. 165, respectively, out of 979 aerospace engineers. The ranking was compiled by a team from Stanford University that looked at the publication citations of the papers by scientists around the world in all science and engineering disciplines. plosbiology/article?id=10. 1371/journal.pbio.3000384

Dr. George Youssef named 2019 Outstanding Engineering Educator
Dr. Youssef was selected by the San Diego County Engineering Council (SDCEC) as Engineering Educator of the Year and winner of the prestigious Outstanding Engineering Educator Award for 2019.

Dr. George Youssef selected as SAE Outstanding Faculty Advisors Award
Dr. Youssef was selected as the recipient of the SAE Outstanding Faculty Advisors Award. This award recognizes the dedication and contributions to SAE and the Collegiate Chapter that the faculty advises for.

Dr. Sam Kassegne was appointed to Guest Editor for a special issue on carbon micro and nanofabrication in the Journal of Nature Microsystems and Nanoengineering in December 2019.

Dr. Yang Yang's research featured on front cover of AMI Journal. Dr. Yang, along with colleagues from the University of Southern California and Arizona State University, had their research titled, "3-D Printed Cactus-Inspired Spine Structures for Highly Efficient Water Collection" featured in and on the cover of the journal of Advanced Materials Interfaces.

Dr. Peiman Naseradinmousavi appointed as Associate Editor for the 8th IEEE RAS/EMBS International Conference for Biomedical Robotics and Biomechatronics.

Dr. Duy H. N. Nguyen publication received the the best paper award at ICC 2020. This conference is one of the two flagship conferences of the IEEE Communications Society. Around 2500-3000 papers are submitted and around 1000 papers are accepted every year.

Dr. Reza Akhavian is the recipient of the following awards: Dr. Akhavian is Assistant Professor in the Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering

Dr Chunting

Dr. Chunting Chris Mi is the recipient of the IEEE Power Electronics Society 2019 IEEE
Power Electronics Emerging Technology Award for contributions to wireless power transfer
technologies. Dr. Mi is a Professor and Department Chair for the Electrical and Computer
Engineering Department.

Parisa Kaveh

Professor Parisa Kaveh is the recipient of the College of Engineering Student Council (CESC)
2019 Favorite Faculty Member award. CESC is the umbrella student organization for multiple
engineering clubs that provide engineering students experiences for their careers. The CESC
allows a voice for all students needs and acts as a liaison between students and the College of
Engineering Dean's Office. Professor Kaveh is a Lecturer for the Electrical and Computer
Engineering Department.

Professor Barry Dorr

Professor Barry Dorr was awarded the 2019 Most Influential Faculty award in recognition as
the most influential faculty member in the academic career of Chenxi Chu (Computer
Engineering, 2019 College of Engineering Outstanding Graduate). Professor Dorr is a Lecturer
for the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department.

Liu Award

Dr. Xiaofeng Liu was awarded the 2019 Most Influential Faculty Award. Professor Liu an Assistant Professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering.