Dean's Advisory Board


The SDSU Engineering Dean's Advisory Board is made up of leaders from local industry, regional non-profit organizations and alumni who are committed to assuring the highest quality education for tomorrow's engineering workforce. The Advisory Board is comprised of the following three sub-committees:

Development Committee

Assists in helping the College of Engineering (CoE) identify potential donors, both individuals and corporations, to enhance learning and discovery, and to foster collaboration and innovation that will accelerate SDSU's climb into the ranks of the top public research universities.

Industry Partners Committee

Advises Engineering students in their quest for internships and job opportunities after graduation. Assists Engineering faculty and students to establish research partnerships and collaborations with industry.

Student Success Committee

Assists in creating transformational experiences for Engineering students by strengthening the internship and mentorship programs that provide opportunities for students to connect with industry professionals.

Advisory Board Members

*SDSU Alumnus

Richard AllowayRichard Alloway
Engineering Fellow, Structures
Collins Aerospace

Roger BallRoger Ball*
Rick Engineering Company

David BarachDavid Barach*
Principal Partner
Cepheus Capital Partners

Jennie BrooksJennie Brooks*
Executive Vice President
Booz Allen Hamilton

Daniel BrownDaniel Brown
Vice President
Technology Development, ASML

Rashmi CharRashmi Char*
Vice President of Engineering
Qualcomm Technologies

Nandan Das Nandan Das

Viasat Inc. 

Stephen Patrick Doyle Stephen Patrick Doyle*
Sandy Point Properties, LLC

Alan DulgeroffAlan Dulgeroff*
Director, Electric System Planning

Jordan EvansJordan Evans*
Deputy Director for Engineering & Science Directorate
Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Mark FilancMark Filanc
Chief Executive Officer

J.R. Filanc Construction Company, Inc.

Tom FranklinTom Franklin*
Partner, Patent Attorney
Mughal Gaudry & Franklin PC

Douglas FroniusDouglas L. Fronius*
Retired Aerospace Engineering Executive
Aircraft Development Consultant

Georgia GriffithsGeorgia Griffiths
G2 Software Systems

James HaugheyJames R. Haughey*
Vice President
Michael Baker International

James HickleJames R. Hickle*
Operational Excellence Director, Energy & Transportation

Caterpillar, Inc

Eric JohnsonEric Johnson*
Angel Investor (Seattle based)

Joe KianiJoe Kiani*
Founder, Chairman and CEO
Masimo Corporation

Mark KohlheimMark Kohlheim
Vice President


Bill LeonhardBill Leonhard*

Claudia MoweryClaudia Mowery*
Senior Program Director 
Anduril Industries

Joe PanettaJoe Panetta
President and CEO


Alfredo RamirezAlfredo Ramirez*
Vice President, Engineering 
Northrop Grumman Aeronautics Systems, San Diego Region

Tim SlentzTim Slentz
San Diego Customer and Field Engagement
Boeing Defense, Space & Security

Agnes WeberAgnes Weber
Senior Consultant
Gannett Fleming, Inc.

Ward A. WilsonWard A. Wilson*
Director, San Diego Field Office
Boeing Defense, Space, and Security

Department of Defense Liaisons

Joshua A. Rivera Joshua A. Rivera*
Structural Analysis & Methods Head
F/A - 18 Fleet Support Team
NAVAIR, Fleet Readiness Center Southwest

Emeritus Members

Douglas Barnhart, Chairman and CEO
J. Reese Construction Company

Joe Beel, Strategic Programs Manager
Cisco Systems

CAPT Gisele Bonitz, Executive Officer
SPAWAR Systems Center Pacific

Mark Cafferty, President and CEO
San Diego Regional EDC

Martha Dennis, Principal
Gordian Knot

Kevin Elliott*, ’85 (BA), Chief Financial Officer
J.R. Filanc Construction Company

Frank Flores, Vice President, Engineering Growth & Advancement
Northrop Grumman

Pete Garcia-Ovies, Principal
I.D.E.A. Partners

David Geier*, '83 (MS Electrical & Computer Engineering), Interim Chief Operating Officer
San Diego Gas & Electric

Darren Greenhalgh*, ’05 (MBA), ’85 (CE), Assistant Director, Environmental Services Department
San Diego Gas & Electric

Peter Heavey*, ’98 (MBA), Director, Global Supply Chain
Solar Turbines

Michael Jones*, ’77 (ME), President
ProFinance Associates & The Maritime Alliance

Price Kagey, CTO and Managing Partner
KG Science Associates

Teresa M. Kruckenberg, Director of R&T
Collins Aerospace

Ziad Mansour*, ’82 ’86 (EE), Senior Vice President of Engineering

Michael Reed, President, Power & Control Systems
L-3 Communications

Chris Root, Advanced Technologies & Innovation IPT Lead
Fleet Readiness Center Southwest (FRCSW)

CAPT Kurt Rothenhaus, Commanding Officer
SPAWAR Systems Center Pacific

Kenneth D. Slaght, Co-Chair
Cyber Center of Excellence

Rick Timm, Vice President & General Manager
Teledyne SeaBotix, Inc.

CAPT Mel Yokoyama, Jr., Commanding Officer
SPAWAR Systems Center Pacific

Irwin Zahn, Founder
Moxie Foundation

* SDSU Alumnus