Spring 2016 Proposals and Awards

Dr. Suchi Ayala, Associate Dean of the College of Health and Human Service, is the PI on a $10M endowment from the National Health Institute (NIH) on Minority Health and Health Disparities. Drs. Morteza Monte Mehrabadi (Dean of the College of Engineering) and Kee Moon (Professor of Mechanical Engineering), were co-PI's along with Drs. Marilyn Newhoff, Stanley Maloy, and Jose Castillo. 

Dr. Chris Mi, Professor and Chair of Electrical & Computer Engineering, received $104,359 from the University of Michigan Uncertainty Management and Proactive Maintenance for Lithium Ion Batteries in Electrified Vehicles. As well, $200,000 from the Nanjin Golden Dragon Bus Manufacturing Company Ltd Joint Laboratory Development and Training. 

Dr. Asfaw Beyene, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, received $110,000 from the US Department of Energy Industrial Assessment Center. 

Dr. Kee Moon (Professor of Mechanical Engineering) and Dr. Yusuf Ozturk(Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering), received $135,078 from the ETRI Electronic and Telecommunications Research Institute Sustainable Power Module for Implantable Medical Devices based on Wireless Power Transfer. 

Dr. Fletcher Miller, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, was a co-author of "Fire in Microgravity" article (pgs. 44-45), which was featured on the cover of the January-February 2016, American Scientist magazine.

Dr. Eugene Olevsky, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, received $125,000 from the US Department of Energy Fundamentals of Spark-Plasma Sintering: Rapid and Ultra-Rapid Materials Consolidation and Joining.

Dr. George Youssef, Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, was selected as one of the 2016 Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Ralph R. Teetor Award winners. This award is given by SAE to a select few outstanding early career engineering educators.